Shadowrun Kickstarter

I’ll be seeing to a couple of projects before fully (re-)focusing on The Darker Side of Life (Book02).

There’s way too much going on in the plot so I intend to strip things down and remove 1-2 “unnecessary” new characters. The main storyline isn’t cohesive enough, so I’ll do my best to tweak those settings so that the “emotional intricacies” aren’t mishandled or compromised (after all, emotion is what moves a person, lol). I’m determined to set up a love triangle that is based more on something more than the involved characters’ “droolicious good looks and hotness factors” (I got so tired of the damage Twilight has inflicted upon culture and society, that I ended up writing a Twilight parody — the first in a list of parodies I’ll be working on…).

* * *

On another note, the first time I heard about the role-playing game Shadowrun was in late 2010. I was born in 1986 and eventually grew to like NIN and cyberpunk-themed media during my mid-teens, but for some reason I missed out on a lot of info and news on Shadowrun (which combines the ‘cyberpunk’ and ‘urban fantasy’ genres, like I do in The Cyberpunk Elven Trilogy).

While there are several classic cyberpunk tropes that feature in my project, I generally try not to “totally copy” another earlier piece of work (where’s the fun in that?).

Even though I don’t really fancy MMORPG games (I like solo role-playing games best), I think Shadowrun would make a fantastic MMORPG, and will some day finally try out the game for myself (I’ll be getting a digital downloadable copy of the game in 2013 — see “Kickstarter” link below). If you like the blend of cyberpunk and urban fantasy, it’s definitely something you should check out!

Some links and info included below:

Shadowrun on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shadowrun

Shadowrun Returns: Kickstarter ($400,000 goal / 5 days left to pledge)

cyberpunk

– Artwork by Timothy Bradstreet (defined the early style and image of Shadowrun, and consequently cyberpunk in the 1990s), from Krypter

shadowrun

Shadowrun image from Kotaku

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.